top of page

Caraval


Caraval by Stephanie Garber Fiction, Fantasy 448 pages 4/5 stars Synopsis:

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year week-long performance where the audience participates in the show.

Caraval is Magic. Mystery. Adventure. And for Scarlett and her beloved sister Tella it represents freedom and an escape from their ruthless, abusive father.

When the sisters' long-awaited invitations to Caraval finally arrive, it seems their dreams have come true. But no sooner have they arrived than Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the show's mastermind organiser, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But nonetheless she quickly becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak. And real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.


***


This book pulled me in from the beginning, I was not disappointed or distracted at any moment. This is a hyped up book on Bookstagram but I can see why!

Even though I didn’t warm up to the main characters Scarlett and Tella for different reasons, I still loved the storyline and the magic within it. It was quite a unique story and different to what I’ve read before. Now I have had a taster of this series I definitely want to continue the story and read more fantasy in the future! (I bought the other 2 books as soon as I finished this).

Garber wrote this extremely well, it’s an easy read yet so detailed at the same time. Garber had me guessing throughout and my mind kept changing, it was not predictable in the slightest. I did think I guessed the ending but I was wrong! There was also a few cliffhangers in there too and I love that within a book! It’s a lovely little escape, so if this is on your TBR I’d recommend reading it ASAP! ☺️😍🤩


Comentarios


bottom of page