top of page

Ready Player Two


Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline Fantasy, Fiction 366 pages 3/5 stars Synopsis: An unexpected quest. Two worlds at stake. Are you ready?

Days after Oasis founder James Halliday's contest, Wade Watts makes a discovery that changes everything. Hidden within Halliday's vault, waiting for his heir to find, lies a technological advancement that will once again change the world and make the Oasis a thousand times more wondrous, and addictive, than even Wade dreamed possible. With it comes a new riddle and a new quest. A last Easter egg from Halliday, hinting at a mysterious prize. And an unexpected, impossibly powerful, and dangerous new rival awaits, one who will kill millions to get what he wants. Wade's life and the future of the Oasis are again at stake, but this time the fate of humanity also hangs in the balance. *** I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book because after finishing Ready Player One and LOVING it.... I didn’t really feel the need for a sequel! However, I heard mixed reviews about this and was intrigued to give it a read anyway. I found this book very ‘wordy’ and extremely detailed but in a way where I couldn’t read large amounts in one go, as it was very scientific and I took quite a long time to finish this book. I didn’t find it as exciting and fun as the first book but I did enjoy the adventure once I was a little more invested! Even though there were moments where I felt I couldn’t take it all in, it depicts in some ways, just how incredible Cline is as a writer! His knowledge and research is very impressive and he describes the Oasis as if its a real place that we all know and love well. Another thing is, I didn’t mind how it ended! Some books are completely ruined in my opinion from a terrible ending but I think Cline did a good job in finishing off the story of Wade and his friends. Just like RPO, I enjoyed all the nostalgic references and futuristic visualisation. If you have read RPO, I wouldn’t make you pick this up immediately but I would still say its worth a read. If anything it made me love the first one even more, so if you didn’t think that would be possible, then go for it… read RPT!

Comments


bottom of page