top of page

Normal People


Normal People , Sally Rooney Romance, Fiction 288 pages 2/5 stars Synopsis:

Marianne is the young, affluent, intellectual wallflower; Connell is the boy everyone likes, shadowed by his family’s reputation and poverty. Unlikely friends, and later lovers, their small town beginnings in rural Ireland are swiftly eclipsed by the heady worlds of student Dublin. Gradually their intense, mismatched love becomes a battleground of power, class, and the falsehoods they choose to believe.

Normal People is a tale of deceptive simplicity, a very accessible narrative of two seemingly mismatched young people who share a profound, inescapable understanding.


***


So I had a lot of mixed reviews about this book but sadly for me ... mine isn’t a very good one. I’m glad I finished it but I haven’t disliked a book in a long time so it is disappointing that this was it. I watched the series earlier in the year and really enjoyed it! However, the book just wasn’t for me at all.

For one, I know a lot of my other fellow bookstagrammers said the same thing... where were the speech marks?! It just seemed confusing without them. Secondly, I just really disliked how Connell and Marianne’s relationship was constantly going back and forth. I didn’t feel much emotion throughout the book and it all just seemed a bit flat. I HATE writing bad reviews but we have to be honest and we aren’t going to enjoy every book we read ... Sorry Sally Rooney!!

Yorumlar


bottom of page