top of page

The Life and Deaths of Frankie D.


The Life and Deaths of Frankie D., Colleen Nelson YA Fiction, Mystery, Fantasy 264 pages 4/5 stars Synopsis:

Seventeen-year old Frankie doesn’t trust easily. Not others, and not even herself. Found in an alley when she was a child, she has no memory of who she is, or why she was left there. Recurring dreams about a hundred-year-old carnival sideshow, a performer known as Alligator Girl, and a man named Monsieur Duval have an eerie familiarity to them.


***


Frankie gets drawn deeper into Alligator Girl’s world, and the secrets that kept the performers bound together. But a startling encounter with Monsieur Duval when she’s awake makes Frankie wonder what’s real and what’s in her head.


This book is different to what I’d usually read but the front cover drew me in, so I needed to find out more. I really enjoyed it! I was intrigued by this story from the very first page, it is fast paced and gets into the narrative quickly. The mystery of Monsieur Duval is exciting and I couldn’t wait for my questions to be answered!


Frankie is a vulnerable, quiet young woman who is going through a lot within her life. From a rare skin condition, to not knowing who her family is. Throughout the storyline, Frankie’s skin condition plays a bit part. There are some subtle moments that teach you to accept and love yourself, for who you are. I think for a YA book, this is extremely important and I loved that Nelson did this. Nelson’s writing is very enjoyable and easy, I was able to visualise these characters in my mind very vividly, which did add to the magic! I read this book within 24 hours.


My only criticism would be that I felt the ending was a little rushed. The book allows you to get to know the characters and their story but then there’s a sudden abrupt reveal that brings the whole story together. Overall I still enjoyed the ending and finding out Frankie’s mysterious past. The last sentence was charming and made me smile, I would like to know what happened with Frankie next. A sequel maybe?

Comentarios


bottom of page