top of page

The Open House

The Open House, Sam Carrington Crime, Mystery, Thriller 384 pages 5/5 stars



Synopsis: Everyone’s welcome. But not everyone leaves…

Nick and Amber Miller are splitting up and selling their Devon family home. But despite the desirable location, the house isn’t moving. Not a single viewing so far.

When their estate agent suggests an open house event, Amber agrees, even as she worries about their gossiping neighbours attending and snooping around their home.

But Amber has more to worry about than nosy neighbours. Because thirteen people enter her house that afternoon, and only twelve leave.

Someone doesn't want the house to sell, and is willing to do anything to stop it…


***

What a read! From the very first page, I was hooked! I read the book in just two sittings, I couldn’t put it down! There were so many twists and turns which made the story very tense and unpredictable throughout. Carringtons style of writing, created suspense as it was easy to put yourself and your own family in the characters situation. Imagine if you thought a stranger was lurking around in your home? Panic and paranoia soon takes over and Carrington describes these eerie moments very well!

Having two character perspectives tell the story, definitely grabbed my attention fast and I think that is what made the book so successful. Throughout, there are snippets of text from a mystery person which adds excitement and danger. I loved that every character seemed to become a suspect quickly, therefore allowing my mind to wonder and think the famous question… “who is it?!”

My prediction for the final outcome ended up being completely wrong and there was definitely a mouth drop or two! Thats always a winner, in my opinion! I highly recommend this book to anyone!


Σχόλια


bottom of page