top of page

The Silence


The Silence by Tim Lebbon Science Fiction / Apocalyptic 363 pages 3/5

Synopsis: In the darkness of a vast cave system, cut off from the world for millennia, blind creatures hunt by sound. Then there is light, there are voices, and they feed... Swarming from their prison, they multiply and thrive. To scream, even to whisper, is to summon death.


Deaf for many years, Ally knows how to live in silence. Now, it is her family's only chance of survival. To leave their home, to shun others, to find a remote haven where they can sit out the plague. But will it ever end? And what kind of world will be left?

***


Apocalyptic vibes! This book reminded me of ‘I Am Legend’ and ‘A Quiet Place’ moulded into one. The Silence is an exciting and tense read! Ally, one of the main characters is deaf and this gives the storyline a more interesting and fun read, some moments I couldn’t put the book down. The narrative is based around family, love, loss and heartbreak. I didn’t know much about this book before I found it on my grandads bookshelf but I am glad I read it.

Also, I haven’t seen The Silence on my Bookstagram before (other than @becksbooknook_ as we said to buddy read it together) but I definitely think it is one to add to your TBR list! I am looking forward to watching the film now on Netflix.

Comments


bottom of page