top of page

Wonder


Wonder by R.J Palacio Fiction 310 pages 3/5 stars Synopsis:

'My name is August. I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.' Auggie wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things - eating ice cream, playing on his Xbox. He feels ordinary - inside. But ordinary kids don't make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids aren't stared at wherever they go.

Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life. Now, for the first time, he's being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted - but can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all?


***

Auggie is a kind, loveable and funny little character! What I enjoyed about this book is how much his personality shines through, he showed bravery, kindness and perseverance. Even though he has insecurities, for me, his face abnormality took a back seat!

I could easily empathise with Auggie from the beginning, at moments the story was heartbreaking and other moments heart warming... it will give you a mix of emotions!

Wonder is well written as R.J. Palacio’s writing really dives into the mind of young children, looking into how they would think and feel in certain situations. The narrative is full of innocence and uncertainty but also depicts growth, friendship and love. There are different perspectives from the characters throughout the book and it worked well.

However, this may be controversial so I apologise 😂 I think as I’ve seen the film I knew what to expect! I found the book doesn’t seem any different to the film, so I would have enjoyed Wonder more if I hadn’t watched the film first! I would recommend reading the book before watching the film, just so you have no expectations or character visuals in your mind!

Overall, it’s still a cute book! 💗

Comments


bottom of page